World Affairs Council Hilton Head

Bluffton High School Wins Again at 2020 AWQ Competition

09 Mar 2020 8:21 PM | Anonymous

Six high schools competed in AWQ on Saturday, March 7: Hilton Head HS, Bluffton HS, May River HS, HH Christian Academy, Whale Branch Early College HS, and Beaufort HS. And here are the rankings!

  • First place - Bluffton High School (Bailey Yang, Kate Anderson, Jordan Wilhelm, Nathan Lessard) along with Ivan Bennet, program chair, Pam Wolsky, coach, Yang, Anderson, Wilhelm,Lessard, Peter Cooper, moderator

  • Second Place - May River High School Team #1 (Ceclan Carter, Alice Hotimski, Jackson Buick, Alexandra Horn, Jade Ward)
  • Third Place - Hilton Head High School- Raul Leyva, Scarlett Metts, Tess Sandford, Anna Gray Ashton, Joseph Hutchinson, Walker Newman, Laney Hawkins

The winners will be going to Washington, DC to compete in the WACA national AWQ competition on April 25th. WACHH picks up the tab. The second and third place teams win gift cards ($100 & $50 respectively).

World Affairs Council of Hilton Head

Office: 200 Main St. #201 M, Hilton Head Island, SC 29926

Mail: PO Box 22523, Hilton Head Island, SC 29925

843-384-6758  |

Member, World Affairs Council of America

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software